Voice 29: Pam Luxton, Deacon, Leeds South and West

Pam Luxton is a Methodist Minister based at Wesley Road Chapel Armley serving four churches and surrounding communities. Pam lives in South Leeds with her husband Geoff and mum Marjorie, and before ministerial training worked in the NHS and in the Civil Service.  As a member of the Religious Order, the Methodist Diaconal Order (MDO), she follows a rule of life and prays daily with the other dispersed MDO members for specific brothers and sisters.

“Prayer is communication with God the supreme divine being, and the most important thing to remember is that we should pray how we can, not how we can’t. I recall when I first became a Christian, that I used daily prayers that were given to me by a church member. I also then and still now pray a prayer attributed to Billy Graham – ‘I thank you Lord that I belong to you, I thank you Lord that you know what the day holds for me.  Take my life and use it for your glory and cleanse me from anything that will hinder your work in my life.’

Early in my Christian journey, soaking prayer featured regularly, until I discovered Lectio Divina whilst at Tabor, the Carmelite Retreat House

in Preston. Lectio Divina can be practiced communally or individually, and is described as ‘feasting on the Word,’

Lectio Divina uses different Scripture passages at different times and a passage may be repeated a few times.

There are four movements, first, the taking of a bite (lectio); then chewing on it (meditatio); savouring its essence (oratio) and, finally, “digesting” it and making it a part of the body (contemplatio). In Christian teachings, this form of meditative prayer leads to an increased knowledge of Christ.

(A full explanation can be found via the link: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lectio_Divina#/editor/7)

I subscribe to the Scripture Union ‘Wordlive’ and find this a valuable resource:

https://www.wordlive.org/Session/lectio

I highly recommend Lectio Divina if you haven’t tried it, especially in a group, which I personally prefer.”

Listen to Pam pray around the City of Leeds here:

 

Christ Has No Body

Christ has no body but yours,

No hands, no feet on earth but yours,

Yours are the eyes with which he looks

Compassion on this world,

Yours are the feet with which he walks to do good,

Yours are the hands, with which he blesses all the world.

Yours are the hands, yours are the feet,

Yours are the eyes, you are his body.

Christ has no body now but yours,

No hands, no feet on earth but yours,

Yours are the eyes with which he looks

compassion on this world.

Christ has no body now on earth but yours.

Teresa of Avila (1515–1582)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

