Voice 5: Graham Jones, DMLN Yorkshire Plus

Graham is a Presbyter and Learning & Development Officer in the Methodist Church, based in Yorkshire. He enjoys exploring theology and spirituality in creative ways and encouraging others to do so too. Graham is a keen runner and has an eclectic taste in music and the arts; he lives in York with his wife Rachel and their two daughters Daisy and Jemima.

A Sense of Wonder

An important aspect of prayer for me is the ways in which it makes me more attentive; more attuned to God in the world; more alive to beauty and goodness and truth and love. Prayer heightens my senses, helping me to see, to feel, to hear the extraordinary in the ordinary. Being in relationship with God opens my soul and spirit to a sense of wonder in the everyday. Van Morrison captures this essence in his song, ‘A Sense of Wonder’:

Morrison finds a sense of wonder in falling leaves, a man playing the saw outside the city hall and the chip shop at the end of his street. Listening to this song helps me to pray and encourages me to be more alive to ‘heaven in ordinary’. Maybe you could listen to this piece of music and ask God to bring you ‘a sense of wonder’ as you walk through what might be a very mundane day? Maybe you could think of another piece of music – something not obviously religious or contemplative – which expresses something of your relationship with God or helps you to pray?

I walked in my greatcoat
Down through the days of the leaves.
No before after, yes after before
We were shining our light into
The days of blooming wonder
In the eternal presence,
In the presence of the flame.

Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder
Didn’t I come to lift your fiery vision bright
Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder in the flame.

On and on and on and on we kept singing our song
Over newtonards and comber,
Gransha and the Ballystockart Road.
This spike an boffyflow
I said I could describe the leaves
For Samuel and Felicity
Rich, red browny, half burnt orange and green.

Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder
Didn’t I come to lift your fiery vision bright
Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder in the flame.

It’s easy to describe the leaves in the autumn
And it’s oh so easy in the spring
But down through January and February
It’s a very different thing.

On and on and on, through the winter of our discontent.
When the wind blows up the collar and the ears are frostbitten too
I said I could describe the leaves for Samuel and what it means to you and me
You may call my love Sophia, but I call my love philosophy.

Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder
Didn’t I come to lift your fiery vision
Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder in the flame.

Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder
Didn’t I come to lift your fiery vision
Didn’t I come to bring you a sense of wonder in the flame.

Wee Alfie at the castle picture house on the Castlereagh Road.
Whistling on the corner next door where
He kept Johnny McBride’s horse.
O solo mio by Mcgimsey
And the man who played the saw
Outside the city hall.
Pastie suppers down at Davey’s chipper
Gravy rings, wagon wheels, barmbracks, snowballs.

A sense of wonder
A sense of wonder
A sense of wonder

Songwriters

VAN MORRISON

Published by
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

 

Leave a Reply

